Death and Beyond

There are common misconceptions about what happens when we die – that we are carried out of our broken vessel by angels and ferried off to the heavens, that those evil amongst us as cast into a chasm where they burn forever in the fiery depths of Punishment. There are tales that when we die, we are born again either in this world or another, or that we are sent to a different plane of existence to live among other beings in a stranger place with stranger laws. This is not all necessarily true.

Even as I lie here face-down on the cold, unforgiving gravel with my life blood steadily seeping out of me, I find myself staring into the depths of where I am to go; staring into the Void.
A dark, empty nothingness devoid of any company or any hope. The Void is infinite, and we do not meet there together but are lost forever in it’s endless depths. Everyone dies alone. That is a fact of life. We can hold those dearest to us close and we may die at the same time but we die alone; that is all there is to it.
“Stay with me now! D’ya hear?! Stay with me!”
I find myself staring into a lamp with a sea of blue-masked faces surrounding me, their eyebrows furrowed in concern as they undoubtedly attempt to bring me back. Foolish bigots – cannot they see I am already lost? Even as the current courses through my body, I am seeping away, light as a feather; I am floating along with the breeze of destiny and everything is rendered dark.
“Stay with me!”
Their voices fade.
We’re losing him…”
 
Their voices continue to diminish.
Rest in peace…”
 
I am no more.

Leave a comment